Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Reverse engineer CAN-Bus communications of automotive modules
DGAlexandru
Pro
Posts: 310
Joined: 04 Aug 2019, 22:47

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by DGAlexandru »

You should think bits not bytes.
If x needs to be 1, 3, 5 or 7 for example then writing this bytes in bits you have:
0001
0011
0101
0111
which means that the message is on when 3rd bit is on = 1
In the Google sheet and also in some examples here (and in Mondeo Simulator) we have a byte explained in bits like this:

Code: Select all

byte as bits:
D7 D6 D5 D4  D3 D2 D1 D0
example:
A8 = 1 0 1 0  1 0 0 0
F1 = 1 1 1 1  0 0 0 1
It will make more sense understanding like this.
Do it for example for side signal / lights / door status.


Cruise Controll for example it doesn't work only with the bytes you mentioned. If CCC is for car with ACC then you also need other CAN ID to say that CC is activated.
The same is for external lights. The ID that controlls what light is on doesn't work if in another ID it hsn't
DGAlexandru
Pro
Posts: 310
Joined: 04 Aug 2019, 22:47

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by DGAlexandru »

You should think bits not bytes.
If 0X needs to be 1, 3, 5 or 7 for example then writing this "X" in bits you have:
0001
0011
0101
0111
which means that the message is on when bit0 is on = 1
For a YX value = 1 byte you use 8 bits. 4 for Y and 4 for X. Y and X are called nibbles (and other derivates).

In the Google sheet and also in some examples here (and in Mondeo Simulator) we have a byte explained in bits like this:

Code: Select all

byte as bits:
D7 D6 D5 D4  D3 D2 D1 D0
example:
A8 = 1 0 1 0  1 0 0 0
F1 = 1 1 1 1  0 0 0 1
It will make more sense understanding like this.
Do it for example for side signal / lights / door status.


Cruise Controll for example it doesn't work only with the bytes you mentioned. If CCC is for car with ACC then you also need other CAN ID to say that CC is activated.
The same is for external lights. The ID that controlls what light is on doesn't work if in another ID it hasn't position lights on.
ZvonimirG
Starter
Posts: 25
Joined: 21 Jun 2021, 17:23

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by ZvonimirG »

DGAlexandru wrote: 18 Jul 2021, 06:35 You should think bits not bytes.
If 0X needs to be 1, 3, 5 or 7 for example then writing this "X" in bits you have:
0001
0011
0101
0111
which means that the message is on when bit0 is on = 1
For a YX value = 1 byte you use 8 bits. 4 for Y and 4 for X. Y and X are called nibbles (and other derivates).

In the Google sheet and also in some examples here (and in Mondeo Simulator) we have a byte explained in bits like this:

Code: Select all

byte as bits:
D7 D6 D5 D4  D3 D2 D1 D0
example:
A8 = 1 0 1 0  1 0 0 0
F1 = 1 1 1 1  0 0 0 1
It will make more sense understanding like this.
Do it for example for side signal / lights / door status.


Cruise Controll for example it doesn't work only with the bytes you mentioned. If CCC is for car with ACC then you also need other CAN ID to say that CC is activated.
The same is for external lights. The ID that controlls what light is on doesn't work if in another ID it hasn't position lights on.
That with bits makes more sense.
For my project door solution will use one port of microcontroller arranged in that way that port input will resamble bits states in can msg for doors.
I looking now to find all Id for speed limiter for now I know where is to switch on and set limit speed, for now didn't find how to switch it off apart to power down ipc😁
For ACC don't have any car near with ACC to make trace.
Like you said it not only one ID for something.
Go4IT
Pro
Posts: 764
Joined: 08 Feb 2019, 12:25

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by Go4IT »

nutra wrote: 17 Jul 2021, 19:01 MS CAN
ID 110 DLC 8 00 00 00 00 00 00 0X 00

0, 6, E No Msg
1, 9 Factory Mode
2, A Factory Mode Paused
3, B Transport Mode
4, C Transport Mode Paused
5, D Crash Mode
7, F Normal Mode
What do they mean?
ZvonimirG
Starter
Posts: 25
Joined: 21 Jun 2021, 17:23

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by ZvonimirG »

Go4IT wrote: 18 Jul 2021, 15:53
nutra wrote: 17 Jul 2021, 19:01 MS CAN
ID 110 DLC 8 00 00 00 00 00 00 0X 00

0, 6, E No Msg
1, 9 Factory Mode
2, A Factory Mode Paused
3, B Transport Mode
4, C Transport Mode Paused
5, D Crash Mode
7, F Normal Mode
What do they mean?
Factory mode is while car be build in factory.
Transport mode is while is car transported to dealers, in this mode power consumption is reduced.
Crash mode is after accident, in this mode fuel pump is disabled and engine shut down. If doors are locked in time of acident then doors will be unlocked.
Normal mode is displayed when car is thrown out from transport or crash mode
DGAlexandru
Pro
Posts: 310
Joined: 04 Aug 2019, 22:47

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by DGAlexandru »

In Factory and Transport modes you can drive the car but the mileage will stay at "zero"... but not more than 50km per session and no more than 200km in total.

Transport mode can be activated any time using a special sequence of contact, brake pedal and lights. It can also be activated by OBD with IDS.
ZvonimirG
Starter
Posts: 25
Joined: 21 Jun 2021, 17:23

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by ZvonimirG »

ID 048 XX XX XX XX 20 XX XX XX
ID 220 9C XX XX XX XX XX XX XX 0r
ID 220 1C XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
IMG_20210726_213747.jpg

ID 048 XX XX XX XX 26 XX XX XX
ID 220 18 XX XX XX XX XX XX XX or
ID 220 98 XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
IMG_20210726_213735.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Go4IT
Pro
Posts: 764
Joined: 08 Feb 2019, 12:25

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by Go4IT »

Anybody any idea how to make the CAN-DB available for us here to easily lookup and change IDs found?
I'm not convinced that using a Google calc is the best way to do (or?)
Gwe89
Pro
Posts: 253
Joined: 09 Feb 2019, 21:21

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by Gwe89 »

Anyone with trailer module looking for ID data when trailer is connected, parking sensor display don't show rear sensors
DGAlexandru
Pro
Posts: 310
Joined: 04 Aug 2019, 22:47

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by DGAlexandru »

It is normal to have rear parking sensors disabled when you are towing something.
Post Reply