Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Reverse engineer CAN-Bus communications of automotive modules
Post Reply
Go4IT
Pro
Posts: 764
Joined: 08 Feb 2019, 12:25

Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by Go4IT »

I've put my CAN-DB of Facelift Mondeo MK4 to a Google-Table:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... sp=sharing

It's originally an Excel-File which i used and evolved over a long time. Ttook me tons of data and hundrets of hours inspection and testing. Everybody using the link above is able to contribute to this list. But instead of simply changing data there, i would suggest to put a breif discussion here first.

Please note: The comments are in German, but please feel free to translate everything you see into English!
ronald0001
Active member
Posts: 98
Joined: 05 Nov 2019, 10:34

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by ronald0001 »

id 131 pdc

03 02 00 00 00 00 00 00 is inaktiv
03 03 00 00 00 00 00 00 is aktiv
(vfl model)

03 02
02 03 deoends if you have front and rear sensors...or only rear...
Go4IT
Pro
Posts: 764
Joined: 08 Feb 2019, 12:25

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by Go4IT »

I think i should add a column for "vFL, FL, Both", what do you think?
Also we should always look at the binary values, because flags often only one bit and depending on the other bits used, the resulting values are more or less different.
Also i think we should admit to only use hex values, if any, to not get confused.
ronald0001
Active member
Posts: 98
Joined: 05 Nov 2019, 10:34

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by ronald0001 »

extro columm for vfl and fl will be a good idea...

about binary i think its not so importand...also is not hex...most importand iäare the databytes and id's where you can find wich function or wich transmitted data...
if you need binary hex or dez you can calculate it yourself

like for pdc there i think is binary keeded to calc the rythmus and given data cuz 3databytes for 4 sensors...

temp speed and mich mor is hex enough....
binary also only keeded if you write some software and the used databyte shows more than one funktion/information....if you have to ignore something in this message...

i also found some things that are not correct in your description of can messages/id
ronald0001
Active member
Posts: 98
Joined: 05 Nov 2019, 10:34

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by ronald0001 »

id 18 is not like ligth on off its only ligth for amatures/radio and so on
also on id 18 message change if you dimm the ligths

to schow in ipc the green symbol ligth is on (headlights) is another id
ronald0001
Active member
Posts: 98
Joined: 05 Nov 2019, 10:34

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by ronald0001 »

and also speed

value / 100

is this correct on your engine so than its different between euro4 and euro 5

cuz mine is value / 96

cuz 60 shows 1 km....60 hex is in dez 96 (64 is 100)

also id 08B d6 cant be fuel for me
value changes all the time
Go4IT
Pro
Posts: 764
Joined: 08 Feb 2019, 12:25

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by Go4IT »

We must carefully look at car specs, because that can really change the meaning of the data found in the messages. So not only vFL and FL (we know they are different in some cases), but also engine (Diesel, Petrol, Hybrid) and even CCC can change it. So if you see a value different than i, it must not necessarily be wrong.
ronald0001
Active member
Posts: 98
Joined: 05 Nov 2019, 10:34

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by ronald0001 »

of course not....i only told that on mine is different...not wron :?:
Go4IT
Pro
Posts: 764
Joined: 08 Feb 2019, 12:25

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by Go4IT »

ronald0001 wrote: 23 Feb 2020, 11:09 cuz mine is value / 96
cuz 60 shows 1 km
Divide by 96 does not make sense to me. Values are often divided/multiplied to transport small fractional numbers on an integer value (e.g. Bytevalue 100 can mean 10,0 or 1,00 depend on the precision needed).

How do you measure 1km/h? By digital tacho display? Must not be true... look at higher value (100 km/h, 200 km/h) to reduce measureing error.
ronald0001
Active member
Posts: 98
Joined: 05 Nov 2019, 10:34

Re: Ford Mondeo MK4 CAN-DB

Post by ronald0001 »

i do via digital tacho yes

also compare with the testmenu of c+

also if i convert 960 to hex and i give ipc via canhacker the data it schows me 100km

if sen 100 in dez it shows me 1 kmh
if i send 1000 it shows me 10
if i send 10000 it schows me 106

1920 to hex schows me 200

on digital speed on gauge also

first rime i was also thinking steps are 100 (64 in hex)
but of i go until 100 kmh it was wrong
so i go step by step down 5f shows 0 kmh
60 shows one kmh....so i come on 96
and i use also 96 steps to show speed on my webapp...gauges shows absolutly same like ipc gauge

so you have 2values behind comma in speed

10,99 kmh
Post Reply